top of page
搜尋
  • 作家相片Sufen Chen

Fear of facing comments

The letter is still there. Isn’t it all I expected in the past few months? It seems too heavy for me to read. Deep breath, go for a walk and pray. I know I’m improving. It used to take me three days to open the decision letter. Now I simply linger a bit.

We all experience that anxiety, unless you don’t care. I was not aware when I overcome that feeling. One day, I discussed with a student where to submit a paper which has been rejected by a journal. He naturally went for a lower impact journal. Then I found that several papers of mine were rejected by less impact journals in the beginning. I took the reviewers’ comments to refine the arguments and think from a different perspective. The papers eventually appeared in top journals. Reviewers have taught me so much tacit knowledge about research that the university would not afford. They are my advisors. They sharpen me up my writing of theoretical papers.

I’ve seen researchers remaining in the fear of facing reviewers’ comments and gradually loosing chances of publication. This is particularly hard for researchers in social sciences and humanities. Very often the authors sense being attacked by a different school of thought. Set your mind on learning, rather than preaching your work, may secure you against the fear.

95 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

為何行政碰不得?

不清楚是何時被灌輸一個觀念:服務與研究不能兼顧。大抵是因為分散時間與精力。所以我也曾對行政避而遠之,但是這與我的另一價值觀相牴觸。我認為群體的每一個人要貢獻,彼此服務,單位才會進步。所以我只好做一任主任,結果我學會管理時間,並能從不同角度看明事理。所以當主任,我的研究反而突飛猛進。我的文章能遍及科學教育、語言學習、管理、行銷、體育、心理健康、社群媒體等等。成功挑戰科教、數位學習、跨領域心理學、資訊

研究隨想 a miscellany of research notes

寫一篇論文就像養個孩子,每天再忙,都抱起來看看,看著看著它就長大了。 Writing an academic paper is like raising a child. No matter how busy you are, try to hug or take a look daily. It will grow! “Publish or perish” is still true. But

跨領域可怕嗎?

我2001年到清華大學時,被幾個系追著要一起提科技部的跨領域課程計畫,因為沒有做過高等教育研究,也沒有跨領域合作過,我極度焦慮。盛情難卻,而且也無處可逃,便與生科系和原科系合作。結果合作愉快,給了我勇氣,樂此不疲。我把跨到一個領域,以發表在其頂級期刊為指標,所需要的時間畫出來,竟成一對數曲線。原來第一次是比較挑戰,我是物理系畢業轉讀科學教育,我在物理也發表過論文,但從跨進科教到第一篇論文被刊登,整

bottom of page